Union Missionary Baptist Church History

In 1920, a group of people got together to build an additional Baptist Church in the community. The congregation rented a building from S. H. Barr. The building was located on old highway 231, which is now highway 29. The worship services were held in the front of the building, while in the rear of the building a store was being operated. Rev. Thornton was pastor from 1920-1937. The deacons were Brother S. Sanders, A. Burney E. Rodgers, and J. Lucas.

After seventeen years of praise and worship with Rev. Thornton, Rev. P. W. Cook became leader of the congregation.

Rev. P. W. Cook — 1937-1947. During Rev. Cook's 10 years of service, two deacons were added to the Deacon Board, brothers W. D. Holland and R. O. Henderson. Also, during this time, the congregation purchased the building from Mr. Barr and this newly owned property was named Union Missionary Baptist Church. The church was rebuilt, and the cornerstone laid in 1937. The church clerk was Deacon Will Hall.

Rev. P. W. Harris — 1947-1949. He ministered at Union for two years. After Rev. Harris left, Rev. J. C. Sellers became pastor in 1949.

Rev. J. C. Sellers — 1949–1962. During Rev. Seller's ministry, four deacons were ordained: Brothers Rex Coleman, J. M. Tucker, Irie Lampley and Willie P. Griffin. The clerks were: Willie P. Griffin, sisters Pauline Robinson and Katherine Coleman. As Rev. Sellers led the congregation, restrooms were added to the church. Rev. Sellers served Union until 1962.

Rev. J. L. Stringer — 1963-1965. During Rev. Stringer's service three more deacons were added to the Deacon Board, Brothers John Thomas, Brother James Moultry, and Brother R. C. Searight. Katherine Coleman continued to serve as clerk.

Rev. Matthews — 1965-1978. During Rev. Matthew's service, the congregation was continually growing, and the Senior Choir was formed.

Rev. Black — 1978-1979. He pastored Union for one year.

Rev. A. A. Robbins — 1979–1984. A new pulpit, carpet was installed, and air conditioners were purchased during Rev. Robbins leadership.

Rev. Murry Powell — 1984-1987. During Rev. Powell's guidance, the church was remodeled, and an organ was purchased. The church began to have Sunday Evening worship Services every 2nd Sunday and Wednesday Night bible Study.

Dr. H. B. Vincent — 1988-1992. During Rev. Vincent's leadership, a youth fellowship was organized, a youth choir was established, and Brother Charles Rodgers Sr. was ordained to the Deacon Board. During this time, the Sunday school grew enormously, and the Second-Sunday nightly service was started. The church's organ was also paid off. Union Missionary Baptist church experienced a great deal of spiritual growth as well. However, the great leadership of Dr. H. B. Vincent was complete in 1992.

On July 26, 1992, the Reverend Alonzo D. Daniels and family came to worship with Union Missionary Baptist Church. On September 26, 1992, Rev. Daniels was ordained to pastor Union Missionary Baptist Church. The church has continued to grow physically as well as spiritually under the leadership of Pastor Daniels. Union Missionary Baptist Church underwent a period of major reconstruction with modern amenities such as the remodeling of the church's front entrance, pastor's office, and conference room, the purchasing of two vans, carpet, and upholstery for the pew, a central heat and air unit, the installation of telephone and internet services. Union Missionary Baptist Church has also purchased two parcels of land, which includes the house at the rear of the church and a parking lot. The house is currently being used

for a fellowship hall, children's ministry and nursery and has also been improved with modern amenities.

In addition to the changes in the church's structure, there has been substantial growth in the ministries of the church. These ministries include Females for Christ, Mass Choir, Youth Ministry, Usher Board and Missionary Department. A new ministry, ADD for Christ Outreach, has also been established. Currently, the following ministers have received their Ministerial License under the pastorate of Rev. Alonzo Daniels and Union Missionary Baptist Church: Carolyn Berry, Valerie Burden, Pamela Daniels, Michael Foster, and Jerry Thomas Jr.

The following deacons received their Deacon-ship Certificate under the pastorate of Rev. Daniels and Union Missionary Baptist Church: Michael Burden, Robert Caldwell, Jimmie Dixon, Stanley Flowers, Terry Flowers, Terry Foster, Wiley Lucas, Jerry Thomas Sr. and Timothy Williams Sr. Other current deacons received their Deacon-ship Certificates under previous administrations. Faye Terry serves as financial clerk. Tamara Berry and Sheron Mitchell have served as previous Church Secretaries. LaDena Warren now serves as Church Secretary and social media correspondent.

In conclusion, we thank the Lord for each of the ministers who have brightened our path and labored so faithfully in GOD's vineyard. We, the members of Union Missionary Baptist Church, are ever reminded of the words of Matthew 16:18 "...and I say unto thee, that thou art Peter, and upon this rock, I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it."